Chokwe Chair

Depois de muitas conversas com o John Giltsoff, dealer de arte tribal e conversador nato, os meus olhos preguicosos e ingenuos, abriram-se um pouco mais para esta area. Deixei de a ver como um todo – especialmente a arte africana – e com mais atencao, concentracao e interesse cultura a cultura comecaram a tomar forma na minha mente. Naturalmente, fiquei atraido pela arte Chokwe, da qual o John me falou tao entusiasticamente.

Visitando o Brooklyn Museum no sabado – que tem umas galerias de Arte Africana de qualidade –  fiquei rapidamente atraído por uma cadeira que me pareceu tao familiar. Esta:

Chief’s Chair

Most seats in sub-Saharan Africa are low stools with round or rectangular tops, carved from a single block of wood. During the seventeenth century, Portuguese traders and explorers introduced chairs with backs, leather seats, and decorative brass tacks, giving them as presents to chiefs, who used them as thrones. Chokwe artists soon began to produce similar chairs, adapting the style to preexisting sculptural traditions. Here, a Chihonhgo mask, a symbol of chieftaincy, is represented on the back of the chair. Figures on the rungs and splats depict scenes of daily and ceremonial life.

Leave a Reply

